Table of Contents

Handbook Home

Neurology Clerkship

Drexel University College of Medicine


Introduction

The clinical clerkship in Neurology for the Drexel University College of Medicine is a comprehensive 4-week rotation which introduces and familiarizes the fourth-year medical student to skills in Neurology. Neurology is a unique specialty that combines the techniques of localization and diagnosis with therapeutic strategy. Every physician must understand the impact of the nervous system on the health of the individual. The fundamental purpose of the Neurology clerkship is for the student to acquire the basic knowledge of Neurology which will serve as a foundation for recognizing and treating Neurologic disease.

Return to top of page...


Sites and Personnel

Site Name Contact Info
Reading Hospital and Medical Center
6th Ave. and Spruce St. 
West Reading, PA  
Robin Salyards 
Site Coordinator 
E-MAIL: Robin.Salyards@towerhealth.org

See Reading website for additional mandatory pre-registration information. 
 

 Lisa Motz, M.D. 
Site Director 
E-MAIL: Lisa.Motz@towerhealth.org

See Reading website for additional mandatory pre-registration information. 
 

Hahnemann University Hospital
245 N. 15th St. 
Philadelphia, PA  
David H. Sirken, D.O. 
Clerkship Director 
Phone: 215-762-4592
FAX: 215-762-6914
E-MAIL: dhs58@drexel.edu

 
 Anh-Thu Vu, M.D. 
Site Director 
Phone: 215-762-4592
FAX: 215-762-6914
E-MAIL: anv57@drexel.edu

 
 Kirsten Erwin 
Clerkship Coordinator 
Phone: 215-762-7684
FAX: 215-762-3161
E-MAIL: KLE27@drexel.edu

 
Abington Jefferson Health
1200 Old York Road, Dixon Building 
Abington, PA  
Lawrence Smith, M.D. 
Site Director 
Phone: 610-831-2182
FAX: 610-279-3784

Please note that there is more than one Neurology practice at Abington. Please be sure that you are with the "Neurology Group."
 

 Maureen Pellegrin 
Site Coordinator 
Phone: 610-279-7443
FAX: 610-279-3721
E-MAIL: mpellegrin@abingtonhealth.org

Please note that there is more than one Neurology practice at Abington. Please be sure that you are with the "Neurology Group."
 

Allegheny General Hospital
420 E. North Ave., Suite 206 
Pittsburgh, PA  
Lisa Pappert 
Site Coordinator 
Phone: 412-359-8843
FAX: 412-442-2248
E-MAIL: lpappert@wpahs.org

 
 Troy Desai, M.D. 
Associate Director 
Phone: 412-359-8843
FAX: 412-442-2248
E-MAIL: troy.desai@ahn.org

 
Crozer-Chester Medical Center
1 Medical Center Boulevard 
Upland, PA  
Kesha Wilford, M.D. 
Associate Director 
Phone: 610-447-2690
FAX: 610-447-2918
E-MAIL: Kesha.Wilford@crozer.org

 
 Margie Dieter 
Site Coordinator 
Phone: 610-447-2623
FAX: 610-447-2918
E-MAIL: margie.dieter@crozer.org

 
Doylestown Hospital

Doylestown, PA  
Jeffrey Gould, M.D. 
Site Director 
E-MAIL: jgould@dh.org
 
 Eileen Fail 
SiteCoordinator 
E-MAIL: efail@dh.org
 
Kaiser Permanente - Sacramento
South Sacramento
6800 Bruceville Road 
Sacramento, CA  
Neuzil Lai, M.D. 
Associate Director 
Phone: 916-688-6452
E-MAIL: neuzil.x.lai@kp.org

 
 Michelle Ramirez 
Site Coordinator 
Phone: 916-688-6813
FAX: 916-688-6500
E-MAIL: michelle.m.ramirez@kp.org

 
Mercy Health System
Mercy Fitzgerald Hospital
1500 Lansdowne Avenue 
Darby, PA  
Salman Wali, M.D. 
Associate Director 
Phone: 610-534-6142
E-MAIL: swali@mercyhealth.org

Attend orientation on the first day at 7:30 a.m., at Mercy Fitzgerald Hospital, 1500 Lansdowne Avenue, Darby, PA in the Medical Science Building, Room A (Ground Floor), Medical Sciences Building.
 

 Janet Thorp 
Site Coordinator 
Phone: 610-237-4682
FAX: 610-237-4329
E-MAIL: jthorp@mercyhealth.org

Philadelphia Area
 

York Hospital
1001 South George Street  
York, PA  
Ellen Deibert, M.D. 
Medicial Education 
Phone: 717-812-4179
FAX: 717-851-2826
E-MAIL: edeibert@wellspan.org

See York Hospital for additional information about York Hospital. 
 

 Alexandra Zeigler 
Medicial Education 
Phone: 717-812-4179
FAX: 717-851-2826
E-MAIL: azeigler3@yorkhospital.edu

See York Hospital for additional information about York Hospital. 
 

 Stacey Wagner 
Site Coordinator 
Phone: 717-851-5318
E-MAIL: swagner2@wellspan.org

 

 Return to top of page...


The Neurology Clerkship description, including goals and objectives, curriculum outline, grading and learning resources may be found on the Neurology Clerkship web page at the link below.

The Neurology Clerkship Web Page and Clerkship Description

 Return to top of page...


 

[University Home] [College of Medicine Home] [Handbook Index]


The provisions of The Student Handbook of Drexel University College of Medicine are not to be regarded as a contract between any student and the College of Medicine. The College of Medicine may, at any time, change any provisions, curriculum requirements, teaching facilities, affiliated teaching sites and/or their amenities, bylaws, rules, regulations and policies as may be necessary in the interest of the University,College of Medicine, and its students.
Return to top of page

Revised 05/16/07 -- Specific questions or comments about the content of this page may be directed to the Division of Clinical Education

1996-2007, Drexel University College of Medicine